Cart

Past exhibitions

Frederic Fontenoy: Inside

By 10. 12. 2013 April 15th, 2019 No Comments

Frederic Fontenoy
Inside

10.12.2013 – 18.01.2014
19.00

You are cordially invited to the opening of the exhibition on Tuesday, 10 December 2013, at 7 p.m. At 6 p.m the author will give a guided tour to the exhibition …in the tradition of Georges Bataille, Pierre Molinier and Luis Bunuel, Fédéric Fontenoy’s photographic practice interrogates desire. Using the artificies of fiction he doesn’t hesitate to jump into his own little mises-en-scène.

Frederic Fontenoy
Inside

EXHIBITION PROLONGATION UNTIL 25th JANUARY

You are cordially invited to the opening of the exhibition on Tuesday, 10 December 2013, at 7 p.m.

At 6 p.m the author will give a guided tour to the exhibition

…in the tradition of Georges Bataille, Pierre Molinier and Luis Bunuel, Frédéric Fontenoy’s photographic practice interrogates desire. Using the artificies of fiction he doesn’t hesitate to jump into his own little mises-en-scène.
Fontenoy’s work is about the body and all the ways it can be exhibited, fantasized and fetishized. Precisely calibrated scenography, made with a view camera and no retouching with the only scenery being a single room. The images are full of references and ghosts, like the newspaper – L’Oeuvre – that nicely hangs over an impressive ass.
Fontenoy’s vision is ironic. For him, playing a role in these photos is a way to allow himself the experience of body in space, in a dynamic exchange with his models who all get caught up in the game, participating fully and joyously in the work at hand, from posing to pushing the shutter release. The photographer is simultaneously a voyeur and viewed, not really perverse, playing perfectly between reality and fiction, creating a personal mythology with profound ramifications…

excerpt quoted after the article on F. Fontenoy by Léa Bismuth

Frederic Fontenoy

Help with exhibition realisation:

Leave a Reply